Skincare – my routine

Anyone that knows me well enough knows that I love skin care (more than I love make-up). There’s nothing I love more when it comes to beauty than a night pampering myself with all the luxurious skin care products in my bathroom cupboard. Because this blog is a place to share anything I’m passionate about, I thought I would share some of my all-time favourites. Here goes.

The first rule I try to live by is to never (ever, even when it’s 4am) go to bed without cleansing my face. A fresh face makes for a fresh start of the day.

When my face is feeling rather dry at night or when I feel that it needs a bit of nourishment, I always go for the REN Rosa Centifolia cleansing balm. You take a small amount, rub it between your hands until it becomes a bit oily and rub it on your face. It takes off all make-up, including eye make-up and leaves your skin feeling nourished. Definitely a go-to in winter time.

On nights when I feel like my skin needs a bit more of a deeper cleanse, I use the Erborian Double Mousse Aux 7 Herbes cleansing foam. This Korean/Parisian brand is one of my favourites and it’s making me feel a bit impatient to try more of their products. I usually take one pump and wipe it across my face (avoiding eyes, remove your eye make-up separately), so that it becomes even foamier. I let it sit for half a minute and rinse it off with luke warm water and a face cloth. Squeaky clean!

After cleansing comes moisturising. I used to think that because I have an oily t-zone I should just skip putting more moisturiser on my face. Wrong! I’ve noticed a huge difference in my skin’s balance since using moisturiser daily. I don’t it matters as much what moisturiser you put on, what matters is that you do it, daily. However, I like using natural, organic moisturisers. My current favourite is the Khiels Pure Vitality Skin Renewing Cream. It is made out of Honey and Red Ginseng. Because of the honey the texture is very soft and nourishing and on top of that it smells great!

DSC_0344

In the mornings I like to wake myself up with a cooling and hydrating facial spray or mist. I really like the Caudalie Eau de Beauté and the Eau de Raisin, but my current favourite is the Pixi Hydrating Milky Mist. Shake it up and spray, that’s all.

DSC_0353

When I remember, because really this is the first step I skip when I don’t have much time, I try to put on eye cream. It usually helps de-puff my eyes after a long day at work or in front of the computer. I use a tiny bit and make circular motions from my cheek bone up to my brow bone. A little really goes a long way with the Origins GinZing eye cream.

DSC_0313.JPG

Last but not least are the Khiels Mighnight Recovery and Daily Reviving Concentrates. I use three drops and softly press the oil into my skin. Sometimes I use them on their own, when I don’t have much time, but when my skin is really thirsty I use them on top of moisturiser. It works for me!

DSC_0359

Sometimes, when I feel like I’ve deserved a long hot bath, I like to use a face mask. Beside the face mask sheets that I ADORE, there’s two types of face masks that I like to make the effort for. The first one is to purify and exfoliate and works with enzymes, the Peter Thomas Roth Pumpkin Enzyme Mask. It feels pretty intense but it works wonders and it smells like Pumpkin pie (but don’t eat it, no matter how great the smell). The second mask I like using is the Origins  Original Skin Retexturing Mask with Rose Clay. I use this mask when I want something to calm my skin down. It cleanses, but in a more gentle way.

That’s it folks! Let me know if you have any questions or if you’d like to see more posts like this. I’m curious to know. I’ll be sure to keep you posted when I have new products to share that I like.

Love,

Silke

Leave a Reply

