Hello world.

IMG_2674

Hi there… It’s me. Remember me?

Well, yeah, I wouldn’t remember me either if I were you (wait…what?)

It’s been a long time. I’ve been busy. I’ve neglected all of you. And I’m sorry. Let’s just say that my life in Belgium is a lot busier, faster and more stressful than my life in Sweden was. This also means my blog has been put on the back burner. And that also means that I didn’t keep my promise to keep writing. Or do millions of essays, presentations and a full-on BA paper count? ;)

Anyways, enough with the lame excuses, onto the more interesting stuff. What IN THE HELL have I been doing? What could have possibly kept me from writing my weekly blog posts? Here’s a list. (Yeah, that hasn’t changed, still love the lists)

-I’ve been extremely busy with uni. And I know that is a lame excuse because I did have some spare time (you can all tell by the pictures on Facebook and all that time I could hear your disapproving, angry little voices in my head: why is she spending her time drinking cocktails instead of writing her blog?) Simply because those things (friends, family, quality time, whatnot) are just a little bit more important to me.

-I have been writing my BA paper. After weeks and weeks of writing, rewriting, more writing, a lot of hair pulling,nail biting and sighing, my text is finally beginning to take shape and with a bit of luck and some more work, I should be able to hand it in in May. Fingers crossed.

-I applied for another exchange programme in Canada, but despite my good grades, didn’t get in. There were 2 spots and 7 candidates. Although I  was very disappointed initially, I can’t help thinking that somehow there must be bigger, better things ahead. I’m just rolling with it.

-I have contemplated to move my studies to Leuven, to pursue a 2 year master’s degree in Anthropology. Despite the enthusiasm and interest it evoked in me, I decided to stay in Ghent for another year and finish my master’s in English Literature first. Nevertheless, I am excited for all the possibilities that lie beyond that one year.

-I dyed my hair. Ombré. Yes, I caved to a fashion trend that is probably already outdated and so. not. cool. I like it anyways.

-I have started the #100HappyDays challenge on Instagram. And I may or may not be getting myself an iPhone sooner (or later). You can follow me here.

-I forgot how much I love blogging. Guys, you need to remind me from time to time.

-I will be going to Indonesia in July. A few years ago I went on a volunteering “holiday” with Bouworde in Egypt. It was one of the best experiences in my young life so far (ranking closely to a) Going on exchange to Sweden and b) Going on exchange to Australia). I’ve doubted my choice this year a lot, considering my IBS has gotten a lot worse over the past few months, but decided to take the plunge anyways. (A lot of you may not know this about me, because well, it can be embarrassing. But because it is just as severe and because it just as much influences my (social) life, I no longer keep quiet). This year, 7 other volunteers and I will be building a classroom out of wood as part of a school that is sort of ‘alternative’: groups are smaller, they allow children with disabilities, uniforms are not obligatory (unlike in the rest of Java),… In order for this to happen, we have to raise a lot of money. The classroom itself will cost close to 8000 euros, but our goal is to raise a quarter of that, 2000 euros. I’ve started selling “postcards”, in the sense that I will send someone a post card on a chosen day within my stay in exchange for a small (or bigger, if they are in a generous mood) fee of their choice. If you are interested in helping me out, you can contact me through Facebook :) No obligations whatsoever though. I realise there are a lot of organisations and good causes out there. (Especially considering the recent events in Nepal, you might want to show the organisations helping out there some love too.)

-I will be able to meet up with my Aussie friend Hannah this summer. I am beyond excited. (Only 89 days from today!)

-I will be turning 22 in a couple of months. I am slightly freaked out. Does this mean I have to get my shit together? Hope not.

-I miss Sweden. (Someone, please, send me some vaniljbullar!)

-I have only had two glasses of soft drink. One obligatory after donating blood. One because I thought I really deserved it. So far so good, I’d say.

-I’ve attempted to continue my random acts of kindness (not through my Dear Somebody series, which I hopefully will be able to continue in August, but through trying to be nice. Even if that is really hard sometimes).

-I’ve gone to hot yoga in Ghent a couple of times, but due to some crazy hype around hot yoga at the moment, I was sent away one time because the studio was full. Since then, I’ve tried to do some yoga at home (not the same, I know, but it’s something)

Anyways, I think that’s a long enough list for you to read for now. Hopefully my next blog post won’t be such a long wait. I’m not making promises anymore, because I know I can’t keep them. :) Let me know how YOU are doing (yes, you, reading this: send me a message, write me a letter, send me a snapchat, email me!)

Did you miss me? Cuz I missed you!

Until further notice,

Lots of love,

Silke

One thought on “Hello world.

  1. Silke! Same as you, I have neglected what I thought was my “travel/exchange” blog and I miss Sweden just as much…so it’s reassuring to know someone out there is still thinking about exchange constantly like me (despite being back for almost half a year). I hope to try to write more as I find it quite enjoyable, I’m looking forward to keeping up with your blog!

Leave a Reply

