Twenty fifteen.

Hi everyone,

I might be a little late on this ‘new years resolutions’ thing, but I somehow feel that there are a few things I’d like to try and do that will, hopefully, improve my life in some way. I don’t intend to radically change anything; it’s more about adjusting little things in my life that can have, over time, positive effects. Also, writing it down on this blog, for everyone to read ,will be an extra push. I feel like with all of you reading, it’ll be some form of control to keep me in check.

The first thing I’d like to do is implement more random acts of kindness into my life. This includes simple things like holding the door for someone, smiling, complimenting people, letting people borrow my notes, giving up my seat on the bus/train,… I feel like my Dear Somebody series was already one step in the right direction, so I’d really love to continue this, although it might take some other form sooner or later (when I run out of people to write to). If anyone has any other ideas, feel free to contact me and let me know.

Secondly, I’d like to be more conscious of what I put into my body. Both foodwise and thoughtwise. I’d like to be more aware of the kind of food I eat. My first step in that direction is taking part in Dagen Zonder Vlees. It’s a Belgian organisation that organises an event where you go forty days without meat. It shouldn’t be too hard for me, because I don’t eat that much meat anyways. For you that are vegetarian, it’s no biggie at all, but it’s still a bit of a challenge to me. And I generally like the idea of raising awareness of what eating meat (or other things) can have as a consequence, environmentally or physically. My second step is to no longer drink any soft drinks. And that’s a big one; I love a cold can of Coke once in a while. Curious to see how that goes… Lastly, I’d like to continue my hot yoga classes. Lucky for me, Ghent is one of the few places that has a hot yoga studio, conveniently located only a few hundred metres from my studio. So there’s really no excuse now, is there? My aim is to try and go twice a week, excluding exam periods.

Thoughtwise, I’d like to care less. Release negative emotions. Only spend time listening to people that have something to say that matters, people that spark something or that listen back. I’d like to learn more; about people, history, cultures, languages, world issues; soak everything up like sponge. And that closely links to my determination to continue to travel, which is when I find I learn most.

The third thing I’d like to do is continue writing. Whether that is on my blog, in a diary or on random pieces of paper. Not only does it help clear my mind, I also find it has stimulated my creativity and I have become much calmer because of both. I also hope you’ll all continue reading? ;)

To a healthy and positive 2015,

Silke

Leave a Reply

