#12

Sometimes…

Sometimes I get overpowered by the plain fact that there are over 7 billion people in the world. That there are so many of those that live in fear, hunger, without a home, no education or medical help. That there is so little I can do to change that.

Sometimes I get empowered by that same feeling. The feeling that a little can go a long way. A smile, a coin, a thank you, a donation. I’ll realise that if we all help out a little, a little can mean a lot. No matter how cliché that might sound.

Sometimes I get overwhelmed by the organisations and options that there are to help out. How to narrow it down to one. How do I pick out the one stone that I can contribute to what it is that we’re building?

Sometimes I get scared that that might not be enough. Sometimes I wonder what it is I am doing with my life and I want to quit it all. University, the luxury, the petty concerns. But then I realise that I am privileged. And to be honest, sometimes I’m not sure whether to wear that badge with pride or shame. Why me? Because I had the mere luck of being born a child in a privileged first world country.

Sometimes I sigh, because I simply can’t wrap my head around it.

Sometimes I sigh a little more, but it doesn’t help.

And then most of the times I just get on with whatever it was that I was doing. Complaining. Studying. More complaining. Enjoying the privileges that I am lucky enough to have. Getting educated in the hope that one day I can put my “knowledge” to good use and make a change for the better. Somewhere, in someone’s life, some day. Or as Abraham Lincoln put it so beautifully: “I walk slowly, but I never walk backward.”

Yes, sometimes… I dream big.

One thought on “#12

Leave a Reply

